Flood control zones

The District has eight zones. They address specific flooding problems within certain watersheds.

There were studies to form Zones 2 and 8 in the past, but no recommendation to create a new zone so they are not included in the District's workplan.

The Flood Zones do not cover the entire county  and are mostly concentrated in the county’s eastern urbanized corridor. The  majority of the county’s land is not contained within a designated zone.


Within the zones, the District performs construction, operation, and maintenance of:

  • Levees
  • Pumps and Pumping stations
  • Creeks and Drainage Ways
  • Flow and Tide Gates
  • Drainage Pipes
  • Stormwater detention basins


All major actions by the Zones require authorization by the Board of Supervisors of the Flood Control District.

Advisory boards

Each zone has an Advisory Board of five or seven residents. They are are appointed by the  District Board of Supervisors.

The advisory boards:

  • Review Zone budgets
  • Review project plans and budgets
  • Advise the Board of Supervisors on zone-related matters
Close window